Chandrapur Travel Guide




places to visit

Chandrapur Super Thermal Power Station

Chandrapur Super Thermal Power Station CSTPS is the biggest pit head Thermal Power Station of the Maharashtra State Electricity Board and the Giants in India among all state Electricity Board. The location Of power station is at 6 Kms from Chandrapur City .The Power station complex is on the way to the famous Tadoba National Park .The emergence of CSTPS as the biggest pit Head Power Station in the country as put MSEB one step forward in its endover to lead in power generation and Distribution among the state Electricity Boards of India . Thus embarking of the 500 MW units to be consider as modern venture of MSEB and first among all SEB’s. This giant project is having ultimate capacity of 2340 MW.

Tadoba Andhari Tiger Reserve

Tadoba-Andhari Tiger Reserve is the pristine and unique eco-system situated in the Chandrapur district of the Maharashtra State of India. The Reserve contains some of the best of forest tracks and endowed with rich biodiversity. It is famous for its natural heritage. Tadoba-Andhari Tiger Reserve is the second Tiger Reserve in the State.Tadoba-Andhari Tiger reserve was created in 1995. The area of the Reserve is 625.40 sq. km. This includes Tadoba National Park, created in 1955 with an area of 116.55 sq. km. and Andhari Wildlife Sanctuary created in 1986 with an area of 508.85 sq. km. The Reserve is constituted with 577.96 sq. km. Reserve Forest, 32.51 sq. km. Protected Forest and 14.93 sq. km. other areas.

anandvan Ashram

The seeds of social activism were sown by Murlidhar Devidas Amte, Baba Amte. Regardless of his parents's disapproval, Baba Amte often ate with servants and played with lower caste children. As a nine-year-old, he was so moved by the sight of a blind beggar that he dropped a handful of silver coins in his bowl. He studied law and started a lucrative practice in Wardha, but was appalled by the poverty in his family estate in the Chandrapur district of Maharashtra. He relinquished his robes and began working with sweepers and carriers of night soil.



Chandrapur is located on main New Delhi-Chennai railway line of Indian Rail. It comes under Nagpur division of the Central Railway. It is connected to Bhopal, Gwalior, Indore, Nagpur, Jhansi, Agra, New Delhi, Jammu Tawi, Warangal, Vijaywada, Chennai, Kanyakumari, Bangalore, Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Puri, Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Mumbai by train.

Chandrapur is also connected to many cities in Maharashtra by MSRTC buses. The buses ply to Nagpur, Gondia, Amravati, Akola, Shirdi, Aurangabad, Nanded, Hyderabad


Chandrapur is city and a municipal council in Chandrapur district in the state of Maharashtra, India. It is also the headquarters of Chandrapur district.

The city of Chandrapur has ancient temples of the goddess Mahakali and of Anchaleshwar, a form of the god Shiva. Chandrapur is also known as Chanda. Nayan is also famous in Chandrapur. The region is very rich in mineral wealth such as iron ore, limestone and coal. Many cement factories are located in this region. Due to large number of coal mines present around the city, the city is also known as City of Black Gold.

Narsimha Rao, a prime minister of India, was stationed at Chandrapur during the days when Nizam ruled Hyderabad. Rao got admission to Nagpur on recommendations of one of the prominent advocates of the region, Balwantrao Deshmukh. Balwantrao Deshmukh was a follower of Bal Gangadhar Tilak. It was due to his efforts that Tilak visited Chandrapur and laid the foundation stone of a school "Lokmanya Tilak Vidyalaya". Shantaram Potdukhe, one of the ministers of state having charge of finance portfolio in Narasimha Rao's government, is from Chandrapur. He was the deputy of the current Prime minister Manmohan Singh. Mohan Bhagwat, senior functionary of Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh, is also from Chandrapur.


Tradition and legends tell that in Krta Yuga the name of this place was Lokapura and its extent much wider than what it is to-day. In Dvapara Yuga, during the reign of one Raja Chandrahasa its name was changed to Indupur and still later as Chandrapur or the city of the moon. During the period of the British Raj, Chandrapur came to be called as Chanda for no particular reason perhaps because the short form was more convenient and continued to be so called until 1964 when its name was officially changed to Chandrapur again. In spite of the restoration of the name it is still known to the general public as Chanda. Puranas mention the town as having been founded by Krtadhvaja Raja, but modern Chandrapur has grown out of the foundations laid by Khandkya Ballal Sah, the Gond King, about the year 1450 A.D. Other places of the region in ancient times include Wairangad, Kosala, Bhadravati and Markanda. Hindu and Buddhist kings are said to have ruled the area for a long time. Later on Gonds overtook Mana kings who ruled Chandrapur around 9th century and Gond Kings ruled the area till 1751 after which Maratha period started. Raghuji Bhosale, the last King of the dynasty, died heirless in 1853 and Nagpur province together with Chandrapur was declared annexed to British Empire.

In 1854, Chandrapur formed an independent district and in 1874, it comprised three tehsils: Viz Mul, Warora and Bramhpuri. In 1874, however, upper Godavai district of Madras was abolished and four tehsils were added to Chandrapur to form one tehsil with Sironcha as its headquarters. In 1895, the headquarters of one tehsil transferred to MUl to Chandrapur. A new tehsil with headquarter at Gadchoroli was created in 1905 by transfer of zamindari estates from Bramhpuri and Chandrapur tehsil. An small zamindari tract from Chandrapur district as transferred to newly from districts in 1907. In the same year and area of about 1560 km² comprising of three divisions of the lower Sironcha tehsil namely Cherla, Albak nad Nugir were transferred to Madras State.

No major changes occurred in the boundaries of the district or its tehsils between 1911-1955. Consequent upon reorganization of the states in 1956, the district was transferred from Madhya Pradesh to Bombay state. In the same Rajura tehsil, a part of Adilabad district of Hydrabad state, was transferred to Nanded district subsequently it was transferred to Chandrapur district in 1959. The district became part of the Maharashtra since its creation in May 1960. For administrative convenience and industrial and agricultural development, this district was again divided into Chandrapur and Gadchiroli district after 1981 census. Chandrapur district now comprises the tehsil of Chandrapur, Bhadravati, Warora, Chimur, Nagbhir, Bramhpuri, Sindhewahi, Mul, Gondpipri, Pomburna, Saoli, Rajura, Korpana, Jivati and Balharshah.